Fallen Ministers of The Brexit Games

Graphics and Rundown by Ramsay Beattie



The cabinet’s fallen ministers


A comprehensive run-down of every Cabinet Minister to resign over Brexit

Rehman Chishti            

15th November
He left his position as in the cabinet as a vice chairman with a bitter taste in its mouth saying “The UK in effect will be a part of a system where it will be a rule taker without any say on the rules.”
Mr Chishti’s resignation has been a protest to Theresa Mays Brexit agreement saying the UK would be in a “hybrid membership of the EU customs union and single market”.

Ranil Jayawardena

15th November
Ranil Jayawardena is the sixth resignation since Thursday amongst the upheaval in the conservative party.
Writing in his letter of resignation that, “It is important to get the right deal for our country. And it is important for every member to act in good conscience.”
This marks Ranil Jayawardena down as another member of the party disappointed in the negotiations.

Suella Braverman

15th November
Suella Braverman’s resignation has acted as a major flashpoint in the Brexit chronicles. Resigning as the junior Brexit minister only weeks before the next Brexit talks.
She wrote in her letter of resignation “My reasons are simple. Firstly, the proposed Northern Ireland Backstop is not Brexit. It is not what the British people—or my constituents—voted for in 2016.”
Also that Secondly “The backstop proposal set out different regulatory regimes for Northern Ireland and Great Britain threatening to break up our precious Union.”
She also wrote in her article to The Telegraph “What I’m sure about is that I supported concessions throughout [the negotiations]. Concessions which have, at times, seemed perplexing for such a brave and innovative country like ours.”
“We have reached a point where the concessions now bear no reflection to the People’s choice in 2016. People who send us to Parliament. People who trust their politicians to do the right thing.”

Anne-Marie Trevelyan

15th November
Anne-Marie Trevelyan, the education ministers private sectary, has resigned given her disagreements with Mrs May’s proposed deal.
She is now one of the number in the conservative party who is calling for ‘a letter of no confidence’.
If the forty-eight letter is submitted then a vote of no confidence will have to be held as per conservative party rules.
If the party rule in favour, Mrs May will have to leave her job as PM and another member will be voted in.
In this time some party members are becoming more vocal in their support
Jacob Reece Mogg had said, “The prime minister in her statement on Friday afternoon said this was the deal she always wanted and the deal that she’s got it not a proper Brexit.”
And that ‘patience is a virtue’ in the campaign for no confidence letters.

Esther McVey

15th November
Another crippling blow to the party was the loss of the work and pensions minister, Esther McVey.
McVey is now ‘looking for a new’ now that she has returned as a backbencher.
She noted in a video posted online that ‘change is difficult’ and that “…that withdrawal agreement wasn’t good enough for the people of the UK.”

Dominic Raab

15th November
Dominic Rabb walked out of his job as ‘the sectary of state for leaving the European Union’, otherwise known as the Brexit sectary, following Theresa Mays proposed deal.
He issued a statement on Twitter saying “Today, I have resigned as Brexit Secretary. I cannot in good conscience support the terms proposed for our deal with the EU.”
This deals a devastating blow to Mays cabinet now that the man who has been working as the Brexit sectary for the past five months walks out the door.
This is especially felt by May since the previous sectary had not long departed.

Shailesh Vara

15th November
Shailesh Vara was the minister for Northern Ireland up until six days ago. He had a significant deal of pressure lying over his shoulders as the discussion of a ‘hard border’ stifled talks.
Vara left the cabinet with a harsh criticism of the plans saying “We are going to be locked in for an indefinite period… over which we will have no say, and will effectively be taking rules and regulations from the EU. And if we want to leave the customs arrangement then we can’t.”
Shailesh Vara was the first of MP’s to leave the cabinet on the morning of Thursday.

Jo Johnson

10th November
Earlier Jo Johnson was the MP who compared the negotiations to the Suez Crisis of the mid-twentieth century.
A conflict in which Israel was asked by France and the UK to act as aggressors by launching a conflict into Egypt, following the nationalisation of the Suez. The UK and France were then to act as peacemakers by appearing to separate the sides and argue that such a vital link to the world’s economy must be a responsibility of their respective global power.
When the plan failed it was largely considered as Great Britain stepping back from its title of global superpower.
Johnson has described Brexit as a ‘subordinate relationship to the EU’, he added: “We will be, instead of in Europe but not run by Europe we will be out of Europe and yet wholly subject to European rule.”
Johnson is now calling for a second referendum by the people of Britain “…to check they are content to concede on this extraordinary basis.”

Guto Bebb

16th July
The minister for defence procurement, an earlier adopter of the resignations, left after he had voted against Theresa Mays Brexit.
Mr Guto had said “The Brexit that is being delivered today could not be further from what was promised”

Ben Bradley

10th July
A vice chair of the party left the party likeminded as many other MP’s describing Brexit as ‘not acceptable’. He is one of the parties youngest MP’s and he has resigned not long into his position as a vice chair.

Maria Caulfield

10th July
Much the same as Ben Bradley Maria Caulfield left saying in a later statement that the Brexit which the British public are now facing is a ‘betrayal’.

Boris Johnson

9th July
Boris Johnson has left his position as defence sectary in protest of the PM’s Brexit.
Johnson has been calling for other ministerial members to leave the cabinet following his own resignation.
Despite being amongst the few members who had resigned at the time, Johnson said that the deal was ‘about as bad as it could possibly be.’

Steve Baker

9th July
Only a day earlier to Boris Johnson’s resignation and fellow Brexit (under) sectary, Steve Baker has resigned.
In his letter of resignation, Baker had said “I cannot support this policy with the sincerity and resolve which will be necessary” about the deal.

David Davis

8th July
Davis wrote in his letter of resignation “Of course this is a complex area of judgement and it is possible that you are right and I am wrong. However, even in that event, it seems to me that the national interest requires a Secretary of State in my Department that is an enthusiastic believer in your approach, and not merely a reluctant conscript.”
His move marked the move of significant figures in the cabinet leaving Theresa Mays Brexit cabinet.

One thought on “Fallen Ministers of The Brexit Games

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *